Two Nobz save the day

Posted: September 29, 2011 in Flotsam, Orks
Tags: , , ,

Brother Ian came over tonight to play some 40K. We both last played 3rd edition rules and are trying to get a feel for the new to us 5th edition. Same game but tweaked just enough to cause a lot of rules questions. We both ran about 600 points so I could get my Orks dirty. The rules have a new way to pick a scenario and to set up so we spent some time figuring that out to begin with. Ended up Ian got first turn and had to set up his Dark Angels. We rolled up capture and control on a spearhead board. We decided earlier that we would play on a 4 x 4 board and shared setting up the terrain. Each of us had one objective and the winner would be the army that controlled the most objectives.

Ready to rumble

Orks about to die

Dark Angels ready to kill

Overall the game went pretty well. There was a lot of stoppage time to try and sort out new rules. Several we figured out AFTER the game was over. The final outcome had the game a tactical draw. Ian had his objective and my last two Orks were still standing on my objective. Luckily it didn’t come down to points because I got my ass handed to me. New rule change is a troop unit can hold an objective even if it only has a single model left in the squad. I am going to have to realize that my Orks are going to die many horrible deaths. They just don’t have any armor. They also suck at shooting. I can see now why Tonkka was telling me to only take Slugga Boyz. Get them into hand to hand and they are quite good. I really don’t want to make a Trukk rush army but I might have to. Sigh. Thanks for coming over and playing Ian. I’m going to read the rules again and try to figure out some of the questions that came up. Next time I won’t get pouty when all my Boyz die.

PS – Thank you Chris for the kick ass enchiladas!!!

Comments
  1. Farmer Fels says:

    That was a lot of fun, we will get use to the new edition rules. One more round and it would have been all over for your orkiez. Llooking forward to another game before the 29th.

    Chris thanks for the great dinner!

  2. Mike Frantz says:

    Looks fun. Don’t go the Trukk route….boring. What about the Killa Kans for cover strategy? And based on reading with Shea, lots of folks really like Shootas over Sluggas if you are walking…. Bear in mind I’ve never played the damn game :).

  3. Kans might give a better saving throw for the Boyz. As for Shoota versus Slugga it really depends what you are going to do. I should have ran my Sluggas to get into hand to hand. On the charge they get 4 attacks each and their weapon skill is a 4. Ballistic skill is a 2. They really suck at shooting. One of my biggest problems is I don’t tend to come up with a plan ahead of time, or if I do i second guess it and end up screwing myself. Ian should have won but I got VERY lucky. My last two Nobz had failed their morale test, ran off objective, regrouped, moved back onto the objective, managed to destroyed the contesting unit and survive the fury of Ian’s las cannons. I definitely need to get some more games in to figure the Orks out.
    @Mike. Start preparing Shea that he is going to lose a LOT of models every battle. I was really surprised. Orks really benefit from lots of terrain. LOTS OF TERRAIN!!!

  4. Chris says:

    You are welcome.

Leave a comment